DBS/5636/R

 

DBS/5636/R_5 by Ed Stratton DBS/5636/R_11

DBS/5636/R (engine number 400/4665/S) was manufactured in the spring of 1970, complete with certain modifications specifically for its intended role in the television series “The Persuaders!” in which it featured prominently in the almost all of the 24 one-hour episodes.

DBS/5636/R_23

Aston Martin had been invited by the producers of "The Saint" (Bob Baker and Johnny Goodman) to provide a car for Roger Moore in his role as Lord Brett Sinclair in the TV series, in which Moore would co-star with Hollywood legend Tony Curtis.  It was to be the most expensive TV series ever filmed to date, with various glamorous locations around Europe.  Moore had expressed an interest in the DBS model which he felt would be ideally suited to the character of Lord Brett Sinclair.  Curtis’ character Danny Wilde was to drive a Ferrari Dino 246GT and the cars were to be an important element of the show.

DBS/5636/R_12

Naturally, Aston Martin were eager to provide a car. They even provided one of their mechanics throughout the production to make sure the car was always in good shape.  It made sense to provide their latest model, the recently unveiled DBS V8, in order to gain maximum benefit from the planned television exposure.  However, the new V8 version of their DBS was not quite ready for full production and it proved impossible to provide a reliable V8 engine in time for the start of filming.  The decision was made to opt for a standard DBS with the well-proven six-cylinder engine, but to build the car as a DBS V8 in all visual respects, as if “wearing make-up” for its starring TV role.  A certain standard DBS (chassis# 5636) was nearing completion on the production line in the rare colour of Bahama Yellow and seemed an ideal candidate for the role.  The modifications were limited to V8 wheels (15-inch GKN alloys) and hubs, and V8 badging.  Incidentally, chassis 5636 proved to be the only right-hand-drive DBS ever manufactured in Bahama Yellow.  The car was first registered in England on 15 May 1970 with number "PPP 6H".

DBS/5636/R_2 DBS/5636/R_4 DBS/5636/R_15

Johnny Goodman, who was in charge of production of the new TV show, collected the car from Aston Martin, drove it to Lydd Airport in Kent and flew it to the South of France by Carvair aeroplane for the start of filming - a journey he remembers very fondly.  Filming commenced with the two cars (DBS and Dino) featured in a memorable race from Nice airport to the Hotel de Paris in Monaco.  Later episodes were filmed in locations such as Rome, Paris and London.  Although in its TV role the car almost always wore the number plates "BS 1" (for Brett Sinclair) there were two brief scenes in the episode “The Gold Napoleon” where the film crew forgot to put the 'BS 1' plates on the car.  As it proved logistically impractical to re-film those scenes, the car’s true identity 'PPP 6H' was revealed in the final edited show!  In real life the number 'BS 1' was owned by circus impresario Billy Smart who had given permission for it's use.

DBS/5636/R_7 DBS/5636/R_16 DBS/5636/R_19

“The Persuaders!” was hugely popular worldwide and remains so to this day with regular satellite TV re-runs.  It was pure escapism and the on-screen chemistry between Moore and Curtis and their relaxed ad-lib style of acting always made for great entertainment.  Roger's DBS and Tony's Dino 246GT were a big part of the show and indeed many Aston Martin fans can trace their love of the marque back to watching the TV series in their childhood or teenage years.  After filming 24 episodes, Roger Moore was invited to take the role of James Bond and “The Persuaders!” sadly came to an end.  The DBS had covered about 5000 miles by this stage and had taken a fair degree of punishment.  It was returned to Aston Martin for servicing and then sold through London dealer HR Owen to its first private owner in 1971.

DBS/5636/R_3 DBS/5636/R_17 DBS/5636/R_14

Twenty-four years, 70,000 miles and three private owners later, by 1995 the car was really 'showing its age' and the fourth owner immediately commissioned a restoration to concours standards by the Aston Martin Works Service, with no expense spared, requesting that the car be returned to the specification that had existed when filming of “The Persuaders!” commenced.  The restoration took two years and was completed in 1997.  The car retains all its main original components and even the interior leather and headlining did not require replacement.  The original registration number "PPP 6H" was reinstated.  The car has been serviced every year since 1997 without fail by Aston Martin Works Service, except for the years 2007-2010 when it was handled by ex-Aston Martin factory engineer David Eales at Oselli.

DBS/5636/R_8 DBS/5636/R_13

In 2003 the fourth owner was invited to take the car to Pinewood Studios to meet Sir Roger Moore who was there recording the commentary for the boxed DVD set of The Persuaders! Roger wasn’t expecting to see the car and hadn’t seen it since filming ended in 1971.  He was amazed and delighted, and marked the occasion by signing the underside of the boot lid.  In October 2008 Tony Curtis was appearing at the Cheltenham Literary Festival in connection with the launch of his new autobiography, and the owner took the DBS along to show to him.  Tony was delighted to see the car again after 37 years, and signed his name alongside Roger's on the boot lid.

DBS/5636/R_26 DBS/5636/R_6 DBS/5636/R_25

In November 2010, musician Ed Stratton (the current owner) acquired the car by private treaty.  Annual servicing of the car continues to be entrusted to Aston Martin Works Service.  To the best of Mr. Stratton's knowledge, the DBS had never been displayed in public prior to the Aston Martin Owners Club Spring Concours in May 2011.  'The Persuaders!' DBS was one of only 49 cars (one of only five Aston Martins) to be invited to participate in the 2013 Concorso d'Eleganza Villa d'Este at Lake Como, Italy.  More recently, it has been one of the stars of the Aston Martin Time Line at the Aston Martin Centenary celebration at Kensington Palace(London) in July 2013, and it also competed in the Centenary class of the UK's most prestigious "garden party" concours Salon Privé in September 2013, winning a coveted rosette for it's wonderful condition, and timeless styling.

DBS/5636/R_18
DBS/5636/R_10 DBS/5636/R_9

Many thanks to Ed Stratton for having shared with us the story of his fabulous car, which is without any doubt the most famous DBS.

 

                                                        Supplementary information

 

DBS/5636/R was  not the only DBS 6 cylinder car to be originally painted in Bahama Yellow, and contrary to official claims it was also not the first.  Eight other DBS 6 cylinder cars also left the Newport Pagnell factory painted in Bahama Yellow, including four which were produced before DBS/5636/R.  They are chassis numbers :                       

                - DBS/5547/R, interior Dark Brown, delivered new to Australia

                - DBS/5563/R, interior Dark Brown, delivered new in the UK

                - DBS/5597/R, interior Dark Brown, delivered new in the UK

                - DBS FI/5619/RC, interior Black, delivered new to the Bahamas

                - DBS/5687/RC, interior Black, delivered new in the UK

                - DBS/5723/R, Interior Dark Brown VM 890, delivered new in the UK

                - DBS/5727/R, interior Black, delivered new in the UK

                - DBS/5755/RC, interior White Gold VM 3323, delivered new to Abu Dhabi

It should also be noted that several DB6 cars produced alongside the DBS also left the factory in Bahama Yellow.  This is also probably also the case for several DBSV8’s built at the same time as the final DBS 6 cylinder cars, although this has still not been officially confirmed.

DBS/5636/R_22

Additional source of information : Heritage Motor Center (Gaydon - UK)

DBS/5636/R

 

DBS/5636/R_5 par Ed Stratton DBS/5636/R_11

DBS/5636/R est sortie de l’atelier de fabrication de Newport Pagnell au printemps 1970, équipée du moteur n°400/4665/S.  C’est sa participation aux 24 épisodes de la série TV  "Amicalement Vôtre" ("The Persuaders") qui a rendu célèbre cette DBS dans sa livrée Bahama Yellow.  

DBS/5636/R_23

Aston Martin avait été invitée par les producteurs de la série "Le Saint" (Bob Baker et Johnny Goodman) à fournir une voiture pour Roger Moore qui allait tenir le rôle de Lord Brett Sinclair dans la série TV, série dans laquelle il allait partager la vedette avec la légende d’Hollywood Tony Curtis.  Cette série devait être la plus chère jamais produite, les deux protagonistes parcourant au fil des 24 épisodes des destinations européennes plus glamours les unes que les autres.  Moore avait exprimé un vif intérêt pour le modèle DBS qu’il estimait correspondre idéalement au personnage de Sinclair. Danny Wilde, le personnage interprété par Tony Curtis, conduirait quant à lui une Ferrari Dino 246 GT.  Les deux voitures allaient être un élément incontournable du spectacle.

DBS/5636/R_12

La direction d’Aston Martin, très excitée par l’idée de voir une de leurs voitures devenir la vedette d’une série TV, décida même de fournir une assistante technique qui suivrait l’auto tout au long de la production, afin de s’assurer que celle-ci soit maintenue en permanence en bon état de fonctionnement.  Pour Aston Martin, c’était l’opportunité de promouvoir leur dernier modèle tout récemment présenté, l’Aston Martin DBS V8.  Malheureusement la phase de production industrielle de ce nouveau modèle n’avait pas encore démarré lorsque le tournage de la série commença, car la fiabilité du moteur V8 n’avait pas encore été démontrée.  C’est ainsi qu’il fût décidé d’utiliser une DBS 6 cylindres dont le moteur avait fait ses preuves, mais en l’équipant de tous les attributs visuels de la DBS V8, comme si l’auto devait être "maquillée" pour tenir son rôle de star de la télévision…  Au même moment, un certain châssis standard (DBS/5636/R) était sur le point d’être terminé d’assembler sur la ligne de production de Newport Pagnell, dans une teinte rare nommée Bahama Yellow, et semblait être la candidate idéale pour le rôle, tant sa couleur était emblématique de l’esprit des années 70.  Les modifications furent limitées à l’ajout de jantes en alliage de 15 pouces de DBS V8, et de badges "Aston Martin V8  DBS". Ainsi équipée, l’auto fût immatriculée en Angleterre le 15 Mai 1970 avec le numéro "PPP 6H", bien connu aujourd’hui des fans de la série.

DBS/5636/R_2 DBS/5636/R_4 DBS/5636/R_15

John Goodman, producteur de la série, alla chercher lui-même l’auto chez Aston Martin et la conduisit jusqu’à l’aéroport de Lydd dans le Kent, où elle s’envola en direction du sud de la France où allait débuter le tournage de la série, un voyage dont John Goodman gare un grand souvenir aujourd’hui encore.  Le tournage commença par une poursuite entre les deux voitures (DBS et Dino) entre l’aéroport de Nice et l’Hôtel de Paris à Monaco.  Les épisodes suivant furent tournés dans des villes comme Rome, Paris et Londres.  Bien que la DBS ait toujours porté à l’écran son immatriculation BS 1 (pour  « Brett Sinclair » ), il y eu deux brèves apparitions de l’auto dans l’épisode "The Gold Napoleon" dans lequel les techniciens oublièrent de remplacer la plaque PPP 6H, révélant ainsi sa véritable identité, car il fût impossible de retourner les deux scènes.  Dans la vie réelle, l’immatriculation "BS 1" appartenait à un impresario de cirque nommé Billy Smart qui avait donné son autorisation pour que son immatriculation puisse être utilisé dans la série. 

DBS/5636/R_7 DBS/5636/R_16 DBS/5636/R_19

La série "Amicalement Vôtre" eut un grand succès de par le monde et est aujourd’hui encore toujours régulièrement rediffusée sur certaines chaines de télévision.  La parfaite alchimie à l’écran entre Moore et Curtis et leur aisance naturelle ont fait de cette série TV un formidable divertissement.  La DBS de Roger et la Dino de Tony furent pour une part importante dans ce succès, et de nombreux fans de l’Aston Martin DBS doivent leur passion pour cette auto à cette série qu’ils regardaient à la télévision lorsqu’ils étaient enfants ou adolescents.  Après 24 épisodes, Roger Moore fût invité à reprendre le rôle de James Bond, ce qui mit tristement fin à la série.  La DBS avait alors parcouru environ 8.000 km et avait été soumise à rude épreuve.  Elle fût renvoyée chez Aston Martin pour une révision complète et fût ensuite vendue à un particulier en 1971 par l’intermédiaire du concessionnaire londonien HR Owen.

DBS/5636/R_3 DBS/5636/R_17 DBS/5636/R_14

Vingt quatre ans plus tard, après avoir parcouru 110.000 km supplémentaires et être passée entre les mains de trois autres propriétaires, l’auto montrait vraiment son âge et son quatrième propriétaire décida de la confier aux bons soins d’Aston Martin Works Service pour une restauration complète, dite "état concours".  Ce fût l'occasion de remettre l'auto dans la configuration dans laquelle elle était lorsque le tournage de la série commença.  Les travaux de restauration durèrent deux ans et se terminèrent en 1997.  DBS/5636/R conserva tous ses principaux composants d’origine, y compris son intérieur en cuir et son pavillon de toit qui ne nécessitèrent pas d’être remplacés.  Même l’immatriculation d’origine "PPP 6H" fût rétablie.  Depuis 1997 l’auto fût régulièrement entretenue par Aston Martin Works Service, sauf de 2007 à 2010, période pendant laquelle l’entretien fût mené par David Eales de la société Oselli, un ancien ingénieur de l’usine Aston Martin.

DBS/5636/R_8 DBS/5636/R_13

En 2003, le quatrième propriétaire fût invité à amener l’auto aux studios Pinewood afin d’y rencontrer Roger Moore qui était là pour l’enregistrement de commentaires pour la sortie d’un coffret DVD de la série.  Roger Moore était loin de s’imaginer qu’il reverrait la DB qu’il avait quitté à la fin du tournage en 1971.  Il fût très étonné et ravi, et marqua l’occasion en apposant sa signature sur le dessous de la porte du coffre de l’auto.  En octobre 2008, Tony Curtis fit une apparition au Cheltenham Literary Festival pour la publication de sa nouvelle autobiographie, et le propriétaire de la DBS lui amena la DBS.  Tony fut également ravi de revoir l’auto 37 ans après, et apposa sa signature sous la porte du coffre de l’auto au côté de celle de Roger Moore.

DBS/5636/R_26 DBS/5636/R_6 DBS/5636/R_25

Ce n’est qu’en novembre 2010 que le musicien Ed Stratton, l’actuel propriétaire de la célèbre DBS, en fit l’acquisition au terme d'une transaction de gré à gré.  Depuis cette date, l’auto est soigneusement révisée et en entretenue par les mains expertes du personnel d’Aston Martin Works Service.  A la connaissance d’Ed Stratton, l’auto n’avait jamais été exposée en public avant sa participation au Spring Concours de l’Aston Martin Owner’s Club en 2011.  Plus récemment en Mai 2013, la DBS d’Amicalement Vôtre a été une des 49 voitures à être invitées à participer au concours d’élégance de la Villa d’Este au bord du Lac de Côme en Italie.  Elle a ensuite été une des vedettes de la "Time Line" du centenaire d’Aston Martin à Kensington Palace (Londres) en Juillet 2013.  L'auto a également participé en Septembre 2013 à "Salon Privé", une célèbre garden party londonienne, remportant au passage un prix en raison de son état exceptionnel et de son style indémodable.

DBS/5636/R_18
DBS/5636/R_10 DBS/5636/R_9

Un grand merci à Ed Stratton pour nous avoir fait partager l'histoire fabuleuse de cette auto, sans aucun doute la plus célèbre de toutes les DBS.

 

                                                                                                Informations complémentaires

 

DBS/5636/R n’a pas été la seule DBS 6 cylindres à être peinte d’origine en Bahama Yellow, et contrairement à une idée reçue, elle n’a pas été non plus la première.  J’ai pu en effet dénombrer huit autres DBS 6 cylindres qui sont sorties des ateliers de Newport Pagnell avec cette fameuse teinte, dont quatre sont antérieures à DBS/5636/R.  Il s’agit des châssis :

            - DBS/5547/R, intérieur Dark Brown, livrée neuve en Australie

            - DBS/5563/R, intérieur Dark Brown, livrée neuve en Angleterre

            - DBS/5597/R, intérieur Dark Brown, livrée neuve en Angleterre

            - DBS FI/5619/RC, intérieur Black, livrée neuve aux Bahamas

            - DBS/5687/RC, intérieur Black, livrée neuve en Angleterre

            - DBS/5723/R, intérieur Dark Brown VM 890, livrée neuve en Angleterre

            - DBS/5727/R, intérieur Black, livrée neuve en Angleterre

            - DBS/5755/RC, intérieur White Gold VM 3323, livrée neuve à Abou Dhabi

Il est à noter, qu’à la même époque, quelques DB6 sont sorties d’usine en Bahama Yellow.  C’est probablement le cas également pour quelques DBS V8 contemporaines des dernières DBS 6 cylindres, mais je n’ai pas encore pu confirmer ce point pour l’instant.

DBS/5636/R_22

Source additionnelle d’informations : Heritage Motor Center (Gaydon - UK)