DBS/5001/R

DBS/5001/R is the first-ever DBS built at Newport Pagnell and the first to be sold on the open market, if one takes into account all the prototypes which appear to no longer exist.  The factory build and delivery are dated as 10th October 1967, the same date as DBS/5002/R, making DBS/5001/R and DBS/5002/R the only two DBS cars to have been produced that year.  The original registration number of DBS/5001/R was YKX 2F, which confirms 1967 as the year of registration.

DBS/5001/R_Front DBS/5001/R_Rear

Delivered in « Dubonnet Rosso » with « Natural » interior, DBS/5001/R was equipped with a Vantage engine number 400S/3331/SVC, and an optional Motorola radio and two standard seatbelts.  It should be noted that this car received split front bumpers, probably the same as those on the DB6.  It should also be noted that the engine number received an inhabitual letter « S » after the figure « 400 ».  This may have been to distinguish the DBS Vantage engine from that of the identical DB6 Vantage engine which were built alongside.  The letter « S » figures on the engine numbers of two other DBS cars : DBS/5003/LAC et DBS/5004/LAC before being dropped.  It is unknown whether the same letter was also used DBS/5002/R.

DBS/5001/R is listed by the AMOC as a « Development car and 1967 Demonstrator car ».  It is reported to have been exhibited at the showrooms of David Brown Corporation in London’s Piccadilly.

DBS/5001/R can be seen in episode n° 132 in the sixth season of the British television series « The Avengers ».  The episode entitled « Split » was filmed in February 1968.  Below are some episode photo stills which are sure to please fans of this cult 1960’s TV series.

0257 cadre 0255 cadre
  0254 cadre
0258 cadre 0256 cadre

DBS/5001/R featured in a number of press articles, most notably in the British magazines Autocar (11th July 1968) and Motor (13th July 1968).  Easily identifiable by its registration number, it was also featured on the front cover of AM Quarterly Volume 11 n° 34, published by the Aston Martin Owners Club in the spring of 1969.  The colour (if a car’s colour can be identified via a black and white photograph) appears strangly light for Dubonnet Rosso and this has raised some still unanswered questions : was the car resprayed or was the same registration number used for another DBS ?  The mystery continues.

AM Quarterly_Spring 1969

DBS/5001/R disappeared for several decades before being finally tracked down in the United States in 2002 (source AMOC).  Confirmation was later received that the car was still in the U.S. in 2011.  Attempts to contact the owner have unfortunately remained unanswered.  However, in the photo below, (which is believed to be of DBS/5001/R) the car wears typically American registration plates and it has also lost its split DB6 bumpers which have been replaced by a standard pair of DBS bumpers.

Below : 5 photos of the car taken on a Paris street by a certain Charles Martin.  It is unknown when these photos were taken.

YKX 2 F
DBS/5001/R_4 DBS/5001/R_1
DBS/5001/R_3 DBS/5001/R_2

DBS/5001/R

DBS/5001/R est la toute première DBS assemblée à Newport Pagnell, si l’on exclut les prototypes qui semblent avoir aujourd’hui disparu.  Il s’agit là du tout premier modèle de série à avoir été commercialisé.  Sa construction et sa sortie d’usine sont datées du 10 Octobre 1967, tout comme DBS/5002/R, faisant de DBS/5001/R et DBS/5002/R les deux seules DBS produites au cours de l’année 1967.  La première immatriculation de DBS/5001/R fût YKX 2 F, ce qui confirme l’enregistrement de l’auto en 1967.

DBS/5001/R_Front DBS/5001/R_Rear

Livrée en  « Dubonnet Rosso »  avec un intérieur  « Natural », cette DBS était équipé à sa sortie d’usine du moteur Vantage 400S/3331/SVC, et en option d’un autoradio Motorola ainsi que de deux ceintures de sécurité.  A noter que l’auto a reçu un pare-chocs en deux parties, très probablement emprunté à la DB6.  A noter également le numéro du moteur, qui présente une inhabituelle lettre « S »  accolée au chiffre  « 400 ».   Etant donné que le moteur des DBS Vantage était en tout point identique à celui de la DB6 Vantage,  cette lettre « S » a dû permettre de distinguer les moteurs destinés aux premières DBS Vantage, contemporaines de la DB6.  Cette lettre   « S »   figure également sur les numéros des moteurs de deux autres DBS : DBS/5003/LAC et DBS/5004/LAC.  Je ne sais pas ce qu’il en est de DBS/5002/R.  Cette distinction a été abandonnée par la suite.

DBS/5001/R est référencée par l’AMOC comme  « Development car and 1967 Demonstrator car ».  Elle a, semble-t-il, été exposée dans le showroom de la David Brown Corporation à Piccadilly (Londres). 

DBS/5001/R a été aperçue dans  l’épisode n° 132 de la sixième saison 6 de la Série TV Chapeau Melon et Bottes de Cuir, épisode intitulé « Double Personnalité » (« Split »), tournée en février 1968.  Ci-dessous quelques photos tirées de cet épisode, et qui rappelleront des souvenirs aux nombreux fans de cette mythique série TV anglaise.

0257 cadre 0255 cadre
  0254 cadre
0258 cadre 0256 cadre

DBS/5001/R a également fait l’objet de quelques articles de presse, notamment dans les magazines anglais Autocar (11 Juillet 1968) et Motor (13 Juillet 1968).  Il semble qu’elle ait aussi fait la couverture de l’AM Quarterly Volume 11 n° 34, publié par l’AMOC (Aston Martin Owners Club) au printemps 1969, comme en témoigne son immatriculation.  Mais la couleur de l’auto (si tant est qu’on puisse réellement juger de la couleur d’un véhicule sur une photo en noir et blanc…) est étrangement claire pour être Dubonnet Rosso.  L’auto aurait-elle été repeinte ?  L’immatriculation aurait-elle été utilisée pour une autre DBS ?  Mystère…

AM Quarterly_Spring 1969

Plusieurs décennies se sont ensuite écoulées avant qu’on ne retrouve la trace de DBS/5001/R aux USA en 2002 (source AMOC).  J’ai moi-même eu confirmation de la présence de cette auto sur le sol américain en 2011, mais malgré plusieurs tentatives,  je ne suis pour l’instant pas parvenu à entrer en contact avec son actuel propriétaire.  Quoi qu’il en soit, la photo ci-dessous, attribuée à DBS/5001/R porte bien une plaque d’immatriculation typiquement américaine.  On remarquera que l’auto a perdu son pare-chocs de DB6 au profit d’un pare-chocs de DBS standard.

Ci-dessous : 5 photos méconnues de l’auto prises sur un trottoir parisien par un dénommé Charles Martin, photographe de son état.  La date à laquelle ces photos ont été prises est inconnue.

YKX 2 F
DBS/5001/R_4 DBS/5001/R_1
DBS/5001/R_3 DBS/5001/R_2