Introduction

 Little known by the general public and long considered by fans of Aston Martin as not being a “real” Aston, the DBS has recently seen an increase in its popularity, particularly its 6 cylinder Vantage version.  This comfortable, spacious four-seater GT was the final car to be produced during the David Brown era. And being hand-built, it is just as much a “real” Aston Martin as its illustrious predecessors.

Although it was initially designed to be equipped with a V8 engine, development production delays led to the all-new DBS being launched with the DB6’s 3995 cc straight 6 cylinder engine designed by Tadek Marek.  The result was that for years the DBS was neglected by purists.  But its noble origins, aristocratic pedigree, unpretentious styling and husky exhaust note make it just as worthy a gentleman’s GT as any other David Brown-era Aston Martin.

Legend has it that the name DBS was the idea of Annie Soisbault de Montaigu, owner of the Garage Mirabeau in Paris which at the time was the official importer of Astons into France.  It was she who suggested that David Brown honour his wife Susan by adding her initial to his own.  This may or may not be true, but it makes for a great story !

So whether you are already familiar with this wonderful GT, or are discovering it for the first time, I hope you will enjoy reading about the fascinating history of one of the most British of all sports cars, the Aston Martin DBS.

                                                                                                                                                      Ph.C. – September 2011

0004-bis-cadre.jpg

 

Picture by Fabienne Cuchet

Introduction

Méconnue du grand public et longtemps oubliée des "aficionados" de la marque, l’Aston Martin DBS connait depuis quelques temps un certain regain d’intérêt, notamment en version 6 cylindres Vantage.  GT à part entière, cette 2+2 spacieuse et confortable, dernière née de l’ère David Brown, est pourtant une véritable Aston Martin, entièrement construite de manière artisanale comme ses illustres ainées.

Initialement conçue pour être équipée d’un moteur V8 dont la mise au point s’avérait difficile, celle-ci naquit finalement avec le 6 cylindres en ligne de 3995 cc de la DB6 conçu par Tadek Marek.  Bon nombre de puristes l'ont négligée pendant de nombreuses années, mais la noblesse et le son rauque de son moteur, son pédigrée aristocratique et son style sans ostentation en font une auto digne de la philosophie « gentleman driver » magnifiée par Sir David.

La légende rapporte que c’est Annie Soisbault de Montaigu, propriétaire du Garage Mirabeau alors importateur officiel de la marque sur le territoire français, qui suggéra à David Brown d’honorer son épouse Susan en accolant l’initiale de son prénom aux deux siennes.  Peut-être une pure invention, mais l’histoire est belle.

Que vous connaissiez déjà cette GT ou que vous la découvriez aujourd’hui, parcourez l’histoire improbable mais fascinante de l’Aston Martin DBS et laissez-vous séduire par le charme « so british » de cette pure anglaise.

                                                                                                                                                    Ph.C. - Septembre 2011

0004-bis-cadre.jpg

 

Source photographique : Fabienne Cuchet